Trustees and Committee

From 1993-2019, the Friends of Rowntree Park ran as a not-for-profit organisation with a committee leading the day to day management of our volunteer activities. The Friends of Rowntree Park became a charity in June 2019 and Trustees were appointed at this time. All trustees and committee members are volunteers.

Our Trustees and Committee work closely together. In fact, all trustees were originally committee members and most still have active roles on the committee too. Our Trustees oversee the strategic planning of the charity. They make sure plans are in line with the charity’s aims and that the charities funds are handled responsibly. Trustees meet approximately 4 times a year.

Our committee members are involved in the day to day running of the charity. They plan and run events and activities in line with the charity’s aims and objectives. The committee members meet as a whole group and in sub groups throughout the year.

We started with five trustees and approximately an additional 6 committee members. We are currently looking to recruit both trustees and committee members. We welcome anyone who is a member of the Friends to join the committee.

We are currently looking to recruit new trustees to our board. Applications b y 28th of February 28th 2021. Please follow the link below for further details:

Trustees – 2019-2020

Cath Mortimer – Chair

Abigail Gaines (moved to charity manager role Feb 2021)

Dave Rowsell

Anthony Chester

Ruth Philips

You can find out more about the trustee role below:

Committee members

On our committee we have those who lead areas and those who are general committee members who help out in a range of areas. We are always actively seeking committee members who want to lead or help out with areas of the Friends’ activities.

Team Leaders:

Gardening – Stu Small

Children’s Events – Christine Banham

Membership/newsletters/website/social media/press & publicity – Abigail Gaines

Goose Management – Dave Rowsell

Litter Picking – Louise Miller

Other co opted committee members currently include:
Rosemary Bentley (Sensory Garden lead/Tuesday gardening), Tom & Val Punchard, Rebecca Dodgson

AGM Minutes – October 2020

Chairs Report– Oct 2020